Plenary Speakers

“Metal-free porous carbon catalysts in ORR and CO2RR: Addressing complexity of activity governing factors”


City College of New York, U.S.A.

Dr. Bandosz has Ph.D. In Chemical Engineering and D.Sci. in Physical Chemistry.

She is a full professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering at the City College of New York. For three years she was associated with Dalian University of Technology in China as a sky scholar/ guest professor of Chemical Engineering.

Dr. Bandosz is a Fulbright Senior Scholar (2016/2017). She edited the book “Activated carbon surface in environmental remediation,” published by Elsevier (2006).

Her work during last 30 years has resulted in 6 US patents and over 400 publications in peer-reviewed journals (H index 59 (excluding self-citations)).

Her recent research interests include synthesis of graphene-based composites for separation and energy harvesting applications, visible light photoactivity of carbonaceous materials, energy storage, ORR and CO2 sequestration and reduction. Since 2014 she is coeditor of Journal of Colloid and Interface Science.  She served on the Advisory Board of American Carbon Society.

She is on the Board of Directors of International Adsorption Society and on the Editorial Boards of Carbon, C, Adsorption Science and Technology, Chemical Engineering Journal and Applied Surface Science.

“A Challenge Using Classic Carbon Materials to Progress of Electrochemical Capacitors”


University of Gunma, Japan

Prof. Soshi Shiraishi received his PhD degree in 1999 from Kyoto University under the supervision of Prof. Y. Ito.

In 1997 he became an assistant professor at the University of Gunma, where he now works as full professor. He also acted as chief editor of the Carbon society of Japan in 2012 and 2013.

He has received numerous awards such as the Young researcher award of the Carbon Society of Japan (2004), the Young researcher award of the Electrochemical Society of Japan (2006), the Japan

Carbon Award for Young Researcher (2008), and the Carbon Society of Japan Award (2014).

His main research interests are related to the development and use of porous carbon materials in energy storage.